BrICK

Thr first brick workout was postponed due to snow.  I have been looking forward and dreading it all at the same time. 

Volunteers went through how it was suppose to go and off we went. I have been riding with the intermediate group so I decided to stay with it.  The group was splitting into to and Nav was the leader of one of the groups. I decided I had to be in her group because well I think she is awesome, even thou I don’t know her, I know enough to know that she excels in the sport and that she would push me.  

We started the sessions with a fast to me 3ish km and a maybe 500 meter run.  I am getting comfortable with the bike and push myself harder and harder.  I was thinking wow that was much simpler then I thought it would be. Nav informed us that we were going to do it again a couple times so on our bikes we hopped and out on the road.  Down the road 1.5 turn around home stretch I decide I am going to really push myself into the transition.  Wait what just happen Nav went past the entrance, wait no this can’t be happening, no.  Yep she is taking us up ravine hill. Oh my I don’t think I can do this.  Guess what I did it. I made it up the hill.  Short break and off we go.  Wait no if we go down the hill here that means we have that hill all the way back to transition. She is trying to kill me.  Stop sign at the bottom off hill I better start braking . Oh s**t wrong brake.  I recover from almost going a**over tea kettle. My heart pounding it feels like it’s going to explode. Thank goodness I am at the back and no one saw that.  Wait what if I would have crashed no one would have noticed. Stop can’t play what ifs.  Make it up the hill and then go for a run not sure how far the run was, I know it was more then enough for this girl. 

As always lessons are learnt at sessions.  My most prominent lesson of the eve was pace myself always always pace myself.  Second lesson I have come a long way from week one but I think a Nav lead session is out of league.

Leave a Reply

