Who is an Athlete?

This question has been on my mind for a couple of weeks now.  A few things have spurred it on.  The main thing is that I have been job searching and have applied at a few gyms and fitness centers.  Most of them have been online applications and require a photo with your resume.  This irritates me to no end.  Please let me tell you why.

I am 5’4″ and a size 16.  I carry most of my extra weight around my waist.  I don’t think that my size and shape have anything to do with how I can perform my job working in a fitness center.  My size doesn’t reflect my knowledge or experiences.

My size or anyone else doesn’t determine if some one lives a health and fitness centered life.

Going back to the original question who is an Athlete?

My answer is anyone who makes time in their day to focus time to bettering themselves in a sport or fitness activity.  It is someone who enjoys and finds happiness in pushing their body to the next level.  This person will be spending time on researching ways to make their body work better for them. They spend time or hire someone to help them fuel their body and peak their performance.  An athlete can come in many shapes and sizes.

A stranger on the street would have no idea that I run 4-5 days a week, I lift weights 2 times a week and I am riding my horse once to twice a week.  I am always looking for ways to look after my body so that it can perform better and watch what I put in my body.

Are you an athlete?

What do you think makes someone an athlete?

Leave a Reply

