Improvments

I am about 5 weeks out from my half marathon and I will not lie, the training is starting to wear on me.  Running 4-5 times a week is getting old and with the weather getting nice, I want to be spending more time in the saddle.

This week is a taper week for me.  The training plan that I am following has a taper week every third week.  I am taking this week to think about where I am and where I was last year at this point.

I will say that I am glad you guys are reading this and its not me telling you.  If we were sitting across from each other I would be crying.  Just so you know I am crying as I write this.  On each difference that I am noticing I will first share what is happening this year and then what was happening last year.

First off.  This year I love to run, I enjoy every run, even the ones that I have to finish at a walk.  Even when the runs don’t go as I planned.  When I am slower then I want to be, I am not beating myself up, instead I am looking at how good I am feeling at the end of each run.  Last year I had to make myself run every run, at this point I was dreading each and every run.  I would push myself so hard last year and knock myself down over and over after each run  telling myself how much better I could be doing.

After I run I feel amazing.  My left hip and calf are a little sore.  I foam roll after almost every run.  I am stretching before each run.  I can run in the morning and continue with my day.  I have a very good recovery time.  Last year at the end of my run I was done, depleted, and completely done.  I was not foam rolling, and I was not stretching.  I was very unproductive after my runs.  I would have to take Advil before going to bed so I cold sleep.  I had horrible recovery.

Massage and Chiropractic Care

I get a massage every three weeks and it hurts.  It hurts oh so much.  However the moment I walk out of the office I feel like a brand new woman.  We are focusing on my legs and lower back.  The results that I am seeing are amazing.  I go to the chiropractor every three to four weeks, for maintenance.  I am having no huge concerns with either one.  Last year I was also getting massages every three weeks during training, however we were working mostly on my back and shoulders.  i was going through some huge personal events last year and carrying so much tension.  As for seeing the chiropractor.  At this point I was seeing Dr. Kiva three times a week for two weeks and then, once a week until just after my race.

The biggest and most rewarding part of this years training is that its for me.  I am healthy and happier going into this years training.  I am running for me.  I already know I can do it.  I know that I can run 21 km, I know what I am going to feel like after the race and the next day.  I am going to savor every moment of my training and my race.  I did the training and ran last year to prove to others that I could do.  To show all the naysayers that they were wrong.  I was distracted by so many different things during my race, and after.  I was so focused on others and not at all on my self.

 

This year I am so in love with this and even though there are days that I have to drag my feet out the door or onto the treadmill.  I am enjoying this and am enjoying watching my times improve, my form improve and most important that I am doing this with very little pain.

Thank you to all who are supporting and cheering me on this year.

 

Leeanne

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

