Values

If you follow me on social media you know I am all about living an Oola life.  

What exactly is an Oola life.  It is living a balanced life within the seven key areas of life.  

Family, finance, fitness, fun, friends, faith and field.  

I was introduced to Oola back in January and have been attacking it with full force.  Oola what is what lead me to start reading more personal development books.  

The book I am currently reading, I started reading to help me focus more on my field (vocation). It is called Insipred Destiny by Dr. John DeMartini.  On page 20 he starts talking about values. He list seven values we all have.  

Spiritual, mental, vocational, financial, familial, social, and physical. 

Interesting those seem remotely familiar.  

As I learn to focus my daily life on what my values are I see so many things changing.  Learning what is really important to me has been so eye opening. 

I have always been a people pleaser, making sure everyone around me is happy and has what they need before taking care of me.  Then beating myself up to no end when the goals I have set for myself are not reached.  

The chapter I read last night was the brightest lightbulb moment I have ever had.   I will give you are short version.  When you are living in accordance to someone else’s hierarchy of values you will fail to reach your goals.  People are put into your life to help you find and realize your own strengths.  When you live your life to your own hierarchy of values and you recognize and accept all your traits you will achieve your goals.  

No two people have the same hierarchy of values and that’s a good thing.  It’s what makes the world work.  The trick is to accepting and supporting others values while still staying true to your own.  

My values change and that’s ok.  Right now running and paying down debt are at the very top of my list. That doesn’t mean that I am ignoring the rest it just means that I wake up and go to sleep focused on those two things.  In June when my half marathon is done, it will change again and it July when the kids are out of school it will change again. It will always be changing, however there are items in each that I will always remain passionate about.  Over the next seven weeks I am going to take you through where I am in each of the values and also where I would like to be within them.  

Each night I set myself seven intentions for the next day. One in each value. I give myself the goal of attaining 3 out of the 7.  In a year that 1095 intentions that I have made and accomplished that would have never happened had I not spent the time to examine and strengthen my values.  

If you want to here more of my story and what lead me here please don’t hesitate to contact me 

Farmfitma@gmail.com

Leeanne 

Leave a Reply

