Birdies

Oh how I love my birds. 

When I was a young teenager the neighbors rooster came chasing after me and since then I have been terrified of birds. Yet some how I have become the crazy chicken lady. Now expanding in guiena fowl and ducks.  

About 5 years ago I went over to a friends house for lunch and came home with 5 hens and so the addiction began. I now hove about 50 hens, a couple roosters, 8 guiena fowl and 8 ducks. Well let’s be honest about the ducks for a moment they are being boarded here, however they kinda feel like they are mine. Please don’t tell banker lady and wood man ok. 

I want to spend some time telling you what I love about all these feathered friends at our house. 

 Let’s start first with the ducks as they are the newest addition. These guys really aren’t to friendly this picture is from my phone all full zoom as hey were waddling away from me.  They are so peaceful, the little quacks they make waddling around the yard. The way they zip across the yard when one sees the perfect bug. They are just really zen for me. 
Next up guiena fowl. Aka the clown bird. 

They are odd looking, they are loud and make the worlds most horrible noises. They are flighty and they are mean to my chickens. So you may be asking why on earth I keep them.  Well that is super easy. They love to eat ticks. The number of ticks that we have this year compared to last has gone down drastically. I will take the noise and craziness. 

My hens. We raise laying hens here and have kinda a mish mash of a bunch of different breeds.  Our eggs are green, blue, brown and various shades within.  No white eggs here.  We have some favourite hens and they have names, not everyone gets a name.  Both farmgirl and farmboy have picked a breed to start raising. Farm girl has picked the Polish. 

Yep the crazy puff head bird that is hers. She has three hens and one roo so far. 

As for farboy well he has picked a turken. Or a naked neck. 

That would be the ones with no neck feathers.  Yep my kids are weird.  Oddly enough the naked necks are a very winter hardy bird and make the oddest chicken/ turkey sound.  In the above picture you will see some naked neck chicks, polish chicks and guiena keets. 

As for farmpa and I we just have some good old barnyard mixes.  I would love to get some cream legbar.  We have an incubator to hatch our own birds. However shipping eggs is risky business and cream legbar eggs are expensive.  So for now we will just stick with what we have. 

I sell our extra eggs for $4 a dozen and do lots of baking and egg eating.  Farm fresh eggs are the best tasting eggs ever.  

Thanks for stopping by and see you next week. 

Leave a Reply

